Parliamentary Secretaries.—The Parliamentary Secretaries Act (SC 1959, c. 15), assented to June 4, 1959, provides for the appointment of 16 Parliamentary Secretaries from among the Members of the House of Commons to assist the respective Ministers in such manner as each Minister may direct. The Government thus revived the system of parliamentary assistantships in practice during the World War II and postwar years subsequent to 1943, whereby Cabinet Ministers might receive assistance in the performance of their parliamentary functions and promising Members of the House might secure a degree of apprenticeship for higher public office. Parliamentary Secretaries hold office for 12 months.

At Sept. 30, 1967, the following Parliamentary Secretaries were in office:-

Secretary	Minister
John Ross Matheson	Prime Minister
Bruce S. Beer	Agriculture
Jack Davis	Energy, Mines and Resources
Donald S. Macdonald	Secretary of State for External Affairs
RICHARD CASHIN	Fisheries
Stanley Haidasz	Indian Affairs and Northern Development
Bryce S. Mackasey	Labour
John C. Munro	Manpower and Immigration
Margaret Rideout	National Health and Welfare
James E. Walker	National Revenue
John B. Stewart	Public Works
OVIDE LAFLAMME	Registrar General
Albert Béchard	Secretary of State
JEAN-CHARLES CANTIN	Trade and Commerce
James A. Byrne	Transport

The Privy Council.—The British North America Act of 1867 (Sect. 11) provides for "a Council to aid and advise in the Government of Canada, to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada...". At present it consists of about 115 members sworn of the Council by the Governor General on the advice of the Prime Minister. Membership in the Privy Council is for life so that Privy Councillors include both former and present Ministers of the Crown as well as a number of persons who have been, from time to time as an honour, sworn as Privy Councillors; these include members of the Royal Family, past and present Commonwealth Prime Ministers, and former Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons of Canada. The Council seldom meets as a body and its constitutional responsibilities as adviser to the Crown in respect to Canada are performed exclusively by a Committee; the membership thereof, with a few historical exceptions, is identical to that of the Cabinet of the Day. A clear distinction between the functions of the Committee of the Privy Council and the Cabinet is rarely made and actually the terms "Council" and "Cabinet" are commonly employed as synonyms.